Remotes

Learn how to reset a Roku remote, how a Roku remote works, or pair a new remote.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
wpsiii
Reel Rookie

Voice Commands disable remote buttons

I started playing with the voice commands on my Roku TV.  Seems to work OK, but once I issue a command, like “pause” the buttons on my remote, like play, FF & Rew are ignored.   To get them to work again I have to use the Home button to exit the app, and then restart it.  I haven’t tried every app, but this happens with PLEX and Amazon Prime Video.

Is this a bug or a feature? If the latter, how do I undo it so my Roku alweys responds to the buttons on my remote?  

0 Kudos
4 REPLIES 4
kadukoo

Re: Voice Commands disable remote buttons

Same here. I have several Roku devices with different remotes. Mistaking the Voice button for OK is a never ending and inevitable problem. On the Ultra Plex App, I have to exit to Home just to get the remote working again. Got to create a fix or allow the Voice button to be disabled? I find myself using my Fire TV more and more often now because of this annoyance.

0 Kudos
Claatu
Channel Surfer

I also have this issue from time to time where after I use a voice command - or even accidentally press the voice button - many of the remote buttons become disabled. I even tried using an app on my phone after the physical remote buttons stop responding and the phone app remote buttons don't respond either. I can hear a sound response from the Roku streaming stick when I tap the buttons, but the Roku stick just stops responding to many of the buttons. Interesting that the OP is from August 2021 and no one has responded yet.

0 Kudos
Edenfam