Remotes

Learn how to reset a Roku remote, how a Roku remote works, or pair a new remote.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
electric123
Visitor

Converting Roku remotes to lithium rechargeable batteries

Those who use headphones with Roku remote know how fast it eats up batteries. I hate buying alkaline batteries since they all end up in landfills. For a while I used Ni-MH rechargeable cells, but those have lower voltage and high self discharge rate, so you end up constantly charging and swapping them. Since I'm an electrical engineer and work with lithium batteries for a living, I decided to try and convert my Roku remotes to lithium rechargeable cells. I was surprised that lithium cells were available in AA size, so no need to hack the remote and make it look like Frankenstein monster. I also realized that LiFePO4 chemistry was a better fit than LiNiMnCo, since voltage profile of LiFePO4 is 2.5V to 3.65V , which is close to 2 Alkaline cells connected in series. Maybe LiNiMnCo cells would work also, but there is greater risk of damaging the cells on the low end due to over-discharge and damaging remote's voltage regulator on the high end due to 4.2V full charge voltage. Also, LiFePO4 cells are much safer and have much longer cycle life. So, I picked up 500mAh 3.2V cells 14500 size ( same as AA cells ) on Ebay along with compatible charger. Then I opened up my Roku remote, confirmed that cells are connected in series, which means voltage regulator is expecting nominal 3V. Voltage regulators always have design headroom, so feeding 3.65V maximum voltage from LiFePO4 cells should not be much of a problem. I converted series connection between 2 cells into parallel connection by cutting copper traces and soldering jumper wires, popped freshly charged lithium cells and ......... everything just worked perfectly. I use headphones with my Roku all the time and now my batteries last for 1-2 weeks between charges. I have 2 sets of c