Remotes & Accessories

Help with Roku remotes and accessories, including pairing a remote, setting up TV power & volume control, using voice commands, power adapters, cables, headphones, and wireless speaker accessories.
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Newtsche
Level 8

Audio control with Roku

Greenest green newbie here, floundering with audio control.  This Roku support page may well have the info I need, before I dig into it, trying to make sure there isn't some problem I'm missing.

Roku support page - 

https://support.roku.com/article/115013 ... ol-your-tv

We have Charter/Spectrum, they want me to work with Roku.  I bought a streaming stick for our small kitchen Insignia tv, works well.  Most importantly, the Roku remote turns the tv off and on and controls audio. 

So I bought a Roku Ultra 4k with enhanced remote for our main Panasonic Viera plasma smart tv, hardwired via ethernet cable.  With Roku fired up, on home page, going to SETTINGS>REMOTE>Set up remote for TV control it says tv control not supported by my remote.  Thinking the remote was bad, I got a Roku 4, same problem.

The Panasonic has built in bad speakers.  For my cable signal, I turn the Pany speakers off and run an optical audio cable from the audio receiver to the cable box. 
With the Roku HDMI to TV hook up, the tv internal speakers are the audio source, not controlled by Roku remote.  Optical from Roku to audio receiver gives good sound but also no remote audio control.

To control my audio with the Roku remote, does the above support page tell me everything I need to know?  I can't get past the initial "remote doesn't support tv control" so I can't get deeper into the instructions.

0 Kudos
12 Replies
Tivoburkee
Level 14

Re: Audio control with Roku