Solving playback issues

Find troubleshooting tips and resources for Roku playback speed issues, HDCP messages, power issues, and more. Join the community discussion for assistance.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
LonT2
Channel Surfer

Windows 10 Not Detecting Roku

This just started today.  Since I first got Roku a few years ago, I've never had a problem streaming videos from my PC to Roku using Roku Media Player.  Note, I said "streaming" -- not "screen mirroring," which I've never done or had to do before.  I had no problem streaming a video this morning, then an hour later, suddenly Windows won't share with any of the Rokus (we have three) and none of the Rokus show up on Windows' list of connected devices or network.  I have no idea what happened, and I've been trying for about ten hours now to find help online, but about all the help I can find is in regard to screen mirroring (again, a function I've never used nor had to use in the past).

At first Windows simply stopped sharing files with the Roku; all the video FOLDERS were visible on Roku, just not the files within them.  After trying several "fixes" I found online, now Roku doesn't even show my PC as a media source, and as said none of the Rokus appear on the list of connected devices.  

Yes -- Media streaming is turned on

Yes -- My Roku is fully up to date

Yes -- I'm the PC administrator and have full sharing permission

Yes --  All three Rokus have very strong wireless signals (full bars on all)

Yes -- We can watch other streaming channels on Roku (Netflix, B-Movie TV, etc)

Again, this just started this morning. I can't tell if it's my PC suddenly refusing to discover/acknowledge the Roku, or the Roku Media Player suddenly refusing to read from the PC.  Help!!!

0 Kudos
4 REPLIES 4
atc98092
Community Streaming Expert

Re: Windows 10 Not Detecting Roku