Playback Issues - Audio/Video & Power

Help with audio & video playback issues, TV display type recognition & compatibility, HDCP messages, troubleshooting playback errors, advertisements, and resolving power issues.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Level 7

Use of HDMI splitter with DVD and Roku connected to Receiver Input

Hi.  I'm a novice on stereo systems. Just purchased a roku premiere.  Presently I get my cable tv through my receiver by way of running HDMI line from the cable box to the HDMI input of my Yamaha V661 stereo receiver.  When I play the roku to get a premium channel, I can only get tv speaker sound.  When I want to switch from regular cable tv to the roku tv, I programmed a Harmony Touch Remote to shut off the stereo receiver and switch to tv speakers.  If I don't shut off the receiver, then I hear both the cable sound and tv/roku sound overlapping.  I don't get the same quality sound from using the roku.  Note that I have 2 HDMI inputs and one output on my receiver.  One HDMI input is from my cable box and the other from a blue ray dvd.  Can I use a splitter from the blue ray input to go to both the blue ray and the roku device? This would give me one receiver output to the tv, and one receiver input from the cable box, and one input split between the blue ray and the roku.  End result hopefully would be to use my stereo system for both cable tv and roku.  My thought is that the receiver would see both input sources as essentially 2 dvd  players, using either one as the active dvd player while the other dvd would be turned off.  I would choose which dvd to use through my Harmony remote.  This is a long question, but I don't know how to state easily.  Thanks for any help you can offer.

0 Kudos
1 Reply
Level 21

Re: Use of HDMI splitter with DVD and Roku connected to Receiver Input

@JerryL wrote: