Solving playback issues

Find troubleshooting tips and resources for Roku playback speed issues, HDCP messages, power issues, and more. Join the community discussion for assistance.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Helenbk66
Visitor

TV flickering from Roku home screen to static and back

Jump to solution
I am not tech savvy and the husband is out of town so I cannot provide most of the info requested but I’m desperate. Roku is my only access to streaming and we don’t have cable.

Tuesday night it was fine. Wednesday night every time I turn on the tv and hit the home button on my remote it flickers (every second) from home screen to white snowy static.

I have turned it off and on. It just does the same thing. I have unhooked it from the receiver and I tried switching it from HDMI 1 to 2 (read that worked for someone with a similar problem)

Roku is model 4400x
Serial 4U75A8320813

Thanks
2 Solutions

Accepted Solutions
mbalasko

Re: TV flickering from Roku home screen to static and back

Jump to solution

Bit late to the convo here but I was able to fix mine by swapping out HDMI cables. 

Setup -

Integra R1.1 Preamp

75" Samsung NU7100 Smart 4K UHD TV

PS4, Apple TV, Roku. 

My PS4, and Apple TV had zero issues with flickering and but my Roku Ultra would freak out making it unusable. 

I ended up using Amazon Basics 4K High speed cables and replaced from the Preamp to the TV and the ROKU to Preamp with new cables and it is working as expected. If I cared enough I'd isolate it it to which cable I had that was bad but as of now it's fixed and I'll place the why into the minor mystery pile. 

View solution in original post

Kani
Reel Rookie

Jump to solution

Thanks a lot, I just changed from auto detect to 4K 60hz after checking my smart tv spec(LG 4K UHD), voila it got fixed. I have not used Roku because of this issue for almost 6months, I wish I had checked before.

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
27 REPLIES 27