Solving playback issues

Find troubleshooting tips and resources for Roku playback speed issues, HDCP messages, power issues, and more. Join the community discussion for assistance.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
lleaxyine
Reel Rookie

Roku devices turn on my TV

I have been using some sort of Roku device for several years.  Late last year, a Roku Express started turning my TV on at random times, usually very early in the morning.  I updated to a Streambar, and took connected the offending Roku Stick to another TV that won't allow it to control the TV, and the problem with that stick has stopped.  However, the Streambar has the same problem.  the TV turns on by itself all the time. I have disabled one-touch, I have tried removing the batteries from the remote, and store the remote in another room.  The only think that works is to completely disconnect the Streambar from the TV.  I tried the support folks - they asked a bunch of questions, to which I responded, and they went radio silent.  NO HELP.  It has become so frustrating that I am ready to quit using any type of Roku device for good.  My Amazon devices don't do this.  Never did.  It seems that all my Roku devices do this, and there is no help available - plus, Roku seems to not care.  Their customer support sucks.  Has anyone found any solutions to this problem?  In looking through the support forums, it's clear that this type of problem as been widespread, and has been occurring for years.  Roku knows about it, and appears to not care.  I'm upset that I've wasted my money on a device that works so poorly.  

0 Kudos
5 REPLIES 5
atc98092
Community Streaming Expert

Re: Ready to throw my Roku away