Playback Issues - Audio/Video & Power

Help with audio & video playback issues, TV display type recognition & compatibility, HDCP messages, troubleshooting playback errors, advertisements, and resolving power issues.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
SnakeC
Level 7

Roku Express Continually Goes to Static When Connecting to Wifi

I'm a college student with fair technological knowledge and I received my Roku Express (3900 series) model 3930X today. Upon first plugging it in and connecting it to my television, there was nothing but grey static onscreen. When it was like that the light on the Roku was still on and pressing buttons on the remote would make said light flicker, but wouldn't change anything onscreen. Turning off and turning back on as well as unplugging and plugging back in the tv did not change anything.

I tried all four HMDI ports on my tv and all had the same result, however, plugging the power cord's USB directly into the tv instead of the wall adapter got it to display the Roku startup screen with the bouncing letters before it returned to static and unresponsiveness. Repeatedly resetting the device with the button on the back got it to pull up the "Let's get started" screen where I was able to select language and find my wireless MAC address which I registered with my university's special wifi for multimedia devices.