Playback Issues - Audio/Video & Power

Help with audio & video playback issues, TV display type recognition & compatibility, HDCP messages, troubleshooting playback errors, advertisements, and resolving power issues.
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
tenlbham
Level 7

Roku 2 XD... time to upgrade?

I've been using a Roku 2 XD since 2012 and have been pretty happy with it.  However, I've recently started watching some shows on cable channel (TBS, AMC) whose apps seem to regularly crash the Roku, causing it to reboot.  I made sure the OS is up to date, and the 2GB SD card was properly formatted.

Is the 2 XD getting to be too old to handle some of the channel apps?  Is something else going on, like do I need to unload some other channels that I don't use anymore (and how would I do that)?

Or maybe is it time to upgrade to a newer device with more processing power?

Thanks in advance
Charles Tenlbham
Roku 2 XD w/ 2GB SD card
0 Kudos
27 Replies
jeffrok
Level 12

Re: Roku 2 XD... time to upgrade?

Just buy a new Roku, ANY new Roku. It will be much faster than a Roku XD. A minor investment for a major improvement.
Yeah, I got some Rokus.
https://youtu.be/d1CSEeqWl10
0 Kudos
theuser86
Level 7

Well I wouldn't say ANY Roku. I am not a fan of the new Roku Premiere and Premiere+ models (3920 ans 3921) that are Wireless N single-band 2.4 GHz only. Streaming Stick, Streaming Stick+ and Ultra all have Wireless AC. I have the old Premiere+ Model 4630 and it is solid with Wireless AC, so it is kind of misleading to give this subpar model the same name.

I agree 2.4 GHz is likely fast enough to stream Netflix. But in 2019, Wireless AC should be standard. As well, for local streaming of high bitrate content Wireless AC wins.
0 Kudos
tenlbham
Level 7