Playback Issues - Audio/Video & Power

Help with audio & video playback issues, TV display type recognition & compatibility, HDCP messages, troubleshooting playback errors, advertisements, and resolving power issues.
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
spkay31
Level 7

Premiere+ 3921x frequent reboots

I have two Roku Premiere+ 3921x devices that I have been using on my Vizio TV's for about 5 weeks. For the most part streaming works fine, but occasionally I get stream timeout/reboots on the device connected to the 50" Vizio TV in my living room. I got the Premiere+ because they use the external power adapter and can be located more remotely from the TV and as an engineer I thought have a better power supply and being able to locate the device in a more accessible location would make it work better both for the remote and where there is better airflow to keep it a little cooler. 

But over the past week I would say the device has had to reboot a half dozen or so times which is most concerning during a red zone situation during a football game (happened 2 times). I didn't realize when I bought the Premiere+ that it lacks 5GHz WiFi compatibility but it has worked for a few weeks streaming without a problem for the most part. And my router is not to far (about 9-10ft) from the living room Roku and my throughput tests for all my devices in that area are at near max speed (118Mbps down / 12Mbps up - though I am testing using 5GHz frequency). I am inclined to believe it is less likely to be related to network throughput than to either power or heat related issues with the device since my Router seems to be working fine for all the devices in the house during the periods when reboots occur. 

Any help or advice would be appreciated. Also if others have notice the Ultra is much more reliable than the much smaller Premiere+ (and it offers 5GHz) I would be inclined to return one of my Premiere+ devices and upgrade to the Ultra for the living room.