Playback Issues - Audio/Video & Power

Help with audio & video playback issues, TV display type recognition & compatibility, HDCP messages, troubleshooting playback errors, advertisements, and resolving power issues.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Level 7

A few bugs since updating to 9.4

I've been using the Roku Premiere for about a couple of months now. I'm happy with it for the most part, but a couple of rather frustrating bugs I've noticed.. one that has been brought up many times, with no fix in sight.

I use Plex for the most part, as I have my own server that I like to stream from. I find that the Roku plays Plex media with little to no issue. Video-wise, it's great. I think the update may have even fixed the bug where some videos would start out glitchy for a second or so (only happened on Direct Play and not transcoded media). Audio, some have reported sync issues, but I haven't experienced that myself. What I have noticed, though, is music...any song I play, it cuts off the first second or so. I also have Plex running on an Amazon Fire Stick and my phone (Android). This bug doesn't happen on any of those devices; only the Roku Premiere. The previous version of the Roku software did not have this issue at all, so it definitely started when I updated to 9.4.

The other bug is the one that gets mentioned a lot: the first couple of seconds on every video on YouTube plays super fast. Funny enough, on the previous software version, it only happened sometimes. Since 9.4, it's happened on every single video, including ads. Somehow, the update made things worse and not better. I've tried removing the channels, adding them again, restarting the device, etc. with no luck.