Network - Wireless & Wired Connections

Help & troubleshooting for network issues, including connecting your device to your home Wi-Fi network, connecting to public networks, troubleshooting wireless issues & ethernet connections, and optimizing streaming performance.
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
OnyxDelta
Level 7

WPA2 Passphrase with Caret Symbol Causes Error 014

Hello, this is my first time posting here.  I recently began setting up multiple Roku Ultra devices on my network and I think I may have found a bug regarding WiFi connections.
Steps to reproduce:
1. Select the target WiFi network and begin to enter the password.
2. Enter any valid password containing the caret symbol (^).
3. Press enter and receive an error 014.
Before this error is generated, the device does not appear to attempt to connect to the network as a red "X" is displayed immediately.

Labels (2)
0 Kudos
3 Replies
atc98092
Level 13

Re: WPA2 Passphrase with Carrot Symbol Causes Error 014

That's the caret  Smiley Very Happy
Roku is not alone in not supporting all special characters. I even have some work government web sites that won't allow some special characters. It's not a bug, just a design consideration. It's possible that the caret is used in their OS as something special, and can't be used as a user entry.
Dan
Nvidia Shield, Roku Stick (3600), Ultra (4640), Premiere (3920), Insignia 720p Roku TV, Sharp 4K Roku TV, Windows 10 Pro x64 running Serviio and Plex on a wired Gigabit network.
0 Kudos
OnyxDelta
Level 7

Re: WPA2 Passphrase with Carrot Symbol Causes Error 014

"atc98092" wrote:
That's the caret  Smiley Very Happy
Roku is not alone in not supporting all special characters. I even have some work government web sites that won't allow some special characters. It's not a bug, just a design consideration. It's possible that the caret is used in their OS as something special, and can't be used as a user entry.