Wi-Fi & connectivity

Having Roku connectivity problems? Get the help and troubleshooting tips you need for Roku wireless connection issues, ethernet connections, and more.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
artaftercurfew
Reel Rookie

Re: To everyone having the same "suddenly no wifi" problem

Jump to solution

So what is the solution to this problem? I have been using a Roku stick for about 6 months and have had no trouble with it. Today for no reason, it stops working and the low power screen comes up. Disconnected, unplugged, switched TVs etc. Still the same problem. I let it set for about a half hour (cursing all the time out of frustration I might add LOL) and when I finally got it to come back up it could not find the internet connection. So again I ask "what is the solution to this problem"?

0 Kudos
atc98092
Community Streaming Expert

Jump to solution

@artaftercurfew 

All Roku Stick models are dual channel WiFi, so they support both the 2.4 and 5 GHz bands. However, they (and all Roku devices) do not support every possible WiFi channel available. Channel availability varies by country, and sometimes even a location within a country. Roku only works on the channels that are available everywhere. So the first thing to check is if your router has changed channels on you. When they are set to auto-select, they can do that at any time without your knowing it. 

So, for the 2.4 GHz radio the channel must be between 1-11. Any higher will not be seen. On the 5 GHz radio, it will not see what are know as DFS channels. This is every channel starting at 49 and continuing to 148, so you need a channel outside of that range, either lower or higher. 

If you have the 2.4 GHz radio disabled (some people do that when they only use 5 GHz to reduce the RF bouncing around in the home), you might turn it back on to ensure your Roku WiFi radio is working properly. 

Dan

Roku Community Streaming Expert