Wi-Fi & connectivity

Having Roku connectivity problems? Get the help and troubleshooting tips you need for Roku wireless connection issues, ethernet connections, and more.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
bethafoot
Reel Rookie

Suddenly Roku acts like connection is super slow or nonexistent

I've been using Roku Express for many years. I have Starlink internet, no connection issues. A couple weeks ago the Roku stopped wanting to connect sometimes, or most of the time would act as if the connection was incredibly slow. It was hit or miss whether we'd be able to use it.

I figured maybe it was time for a new Roku so I bought a new one but same deal - can't watch anything. Most of the time it acts like there's no wifi, and if we're lucky we might be able to use it for an hour or so before it stops working. Computers, phones, and other devices can use the internet just fine.

The roku is about 10 feet away from the wifi. I'm not sure what changed or where to go with this.

Labels (1)
7 REPLIES 7
RokuMary-F
Community Moderator
Community Moderator

Re: Suddenly Roku acts like connection is super slow or nonexistent

Hi, @bethafoot

Welcome to the Roku Community and thanks for posting.

We recommend starting here to troubleshoot Network issues: How to connect your Roku® streaming device to the internet using Wi-Fi® or Ethernet | Official Roku ...
Furthermore, if the affected device is a Roku Express, please note that both devices are only compatible with wireless b/g/n networks on the 2.4 GHz spectrum. Ensure that your router broadcasts a 2.4GHz Wi-Fi network for the device to connect.

Please keep us posted and we'll continue assisting you from there.

Best regards,
Mary

0 Kudos
bethafoot
Reel Rookie