Wi-Fi & connectivity

Having Roku connectivity problems? Get the help and troubleshooting tips you need for Roku wireless connection issues, ethernet connections, and more.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Hounder
Reel Rookie

Roku streams tablet but not tv

I'm new to Roku. I have the express4k+. Both my tablet and the tv use the same wireless Verizon 5G internet. Testing the Roku on the tv shows signal strength excellent and connected. Shows will play on the tablet, but not on the tv.  I can navigate  the Roku home screen and the free channel home screens on the tv. Can anyone suggest what I'm doing wrong, please. Thanks.

0 Kudos
5 REPLIES 5
RokuKariza-D
Retired Moderator

Re: Roku streams tablet but not tv

Hey @Hounder

Thanks for reaching out here in the Community!

If you are getting an error code or message, refer to this link for common Roku error codes and their recommended actions: How to connect your Roku device to the internet using Wi-Fi or Ethernet

Furthermore, if the affected device is either a Roku Express or Roku Premiere, please note that they are only compatible with wireless b/g/n networks on the 2.4 GHz spectrum. Ensure that your router is broadcasting a 2.4GHz Wi-Fi network for the device to connect to. You can check your device model by navigating to Settings > System > About.

You can also try configuring your router and use wireless channels 1, 6, or 11 which are the preferred channels in North America. Each time you change the wireless channel, you will likely need to apply/save changes before you are prompted to restart the router.

Let us know how it goes.

All the best,
Kariza

Kariza D.
Roku Forum Moderator
0 Kudos
Hounder
Reel Rookie