Network - Wireless & Wired Connections

Help & troubleshooting for network issues, including connecting your device to your home Wi-Fi network, connecting to public networks, troubleshooting wireless issues & ethernet connections, and optimizing streaming performance.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Girl_Doodle
Level 8

Roku is killing my Internet?!

Okay, so this is some serious twilight zone stuff. I have been using a Roku box at my new house for about 4 months. Every single month the Wi-Fi completely dies. I have to call the internet service provider for them to do a reboot on their end which fixes it. I decided to try using a firestick since I was suspicious. For the 2 months I use the firestick I had no internet interruptions. Last week I went and purchased a new Roku ultra and within two days my internet went down. Has anyone seen this before?!? It is way too bizarre. What makes me wonder is even when the TV is off the Roku light is always blinking like crazy. I never have any problems connecting the Roku to my wireless but for some reason once a month it kills it. Note: I'm not referring to the internet dying on the Roku, I mean completely going down.
10 Replies
boogernose
Level 18

Re: Roku is killing my Internet?!

Try setting your resolution down.,

Settings/Display type>>720p.

You didnt mention what kind of router or net connection you have

but a lot of problems get solved with new better Routers.

---A problem clearly stated is a problem half solved---.
0 Kudos
PJazzy2020
Level 7

Right, so buy a $25.00 Roku and a $200.00 router. Got it.

boogernose
Level 18

My Router cost around 75 bucks.

An Ultra cost about the same.

All you net service is doing is sending a signal

which causes your

present Modem to reboot. All you need to do is unplug/replug it.

0 Kudos
Girl_Doodle
Level 8

This doesn't make any sense. The fix was a new router. Both items were over $100, so really don't understand this comment.