Network - Wireless & Wired Connections

Help & troubleshooting for network issues, including connecting your device to your home Wi-Fi network, connecting to public networks, troubleshooting wireless issues & ethernet connections, and optimizing streaming performance.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
Tarzan61
Level 8

Poor internet connection

I develop software for a living so this stuff is not foreign to me. I’ve read all the troubleshooting articles and some of the posts here to try to resolve my issue but nothing helps.

I have 400 Mb per second internet speed, So speed shouldn’t be an issue. My Wi-Fi router is directly below my bedroom so I’m pretty close to the signal. With 400 speed I would imagine connecting at a much higher rate than the Roku is connecting at. It connects from anywhere from 2 Mb to 30 Mb. Considering I have 400 speed and the location is nearby that seems odd.

What is the best way to boost signal strength? My router can also put out 5G but your Roku device won’t recognize that network. I can also go into the Wi-Fi router and change any settings if it will help fix this issue

0 Kudos
8 Replies
dgrace
Level 11

Re: Poor internet connection

Do you have a way (phone or tablet app) to test the router signal at the roku? Does your router have external antennas? You may know this, but radio waves emanate from antennas perpendicular to the antenna, basically a horizontal doughnut to a vertical antenna. Being directly above or below would be poor reception.

Another thought is home construction. Is it just a wooden floor or are there metal ducts or possibly in floor heating? Sometimes just moving router/roku a little bit improves reception. Is the roku close to any other electronics? Poor wifi is possible from any strong electrical field, or even speaker magnets. 

Just things to look for, and possibly mitigate.

"I might be moving to Montana soon..."
FZ
Highlighted
Community Manager