Wi-Fi & connectivity

Having Roku connectivity problems? Get the help and troubleshooting tips you need for Roku wireless connection issues, ethernet connections, and more.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
RiverGuy369
Reel Rookie

Dorm/hotel connect not allowing enough time to type in credentials before loading wifi

Hello, I am an IT manager at an RV resort with an internet network that requires a login site to be reached. I have ran into a problem several times with using dorm and hotel connect, where when going through the process and connecting to the roku device network (to type in credentials on iphone) the roku device starts testing connection on its own before I can even type in the password to roku network. I find myself trying to “race against the roku”to try to connect to the roku network on my iPhone. I have connected and used this feature many times and this problem has happened a lot is there any solution? FYI I mostly am setting up new devices and some work fine but most have this issue but even for setup devices I have had this problem. So I end up just using Mac addresses to add them to the network but should not have to.

The roku is not prompted to start testing the network and it starts testing the network on its own before I can sign into network and have been trying to do this over and over for about an hour before giving up, I believe it is a software issue with the roku devices.

3 REPLIES 3
RokuDanny-R
Retired Moderator

Re: Dorm/hotel connect not allowing enough time to type in credentials before loading wifi

@RiverGuy369

Thanks for the post.

Please be aware that the Hotel & Dorm Connect feature on Roku devices will only work on devices that have already been activated.

For more information about the Hotel & Dorm Connect feature, visit our Support page here: Hotel & Dorm Connect

Thanks,
Danny

Danny R.
Roku Community Moderator
0 Kudos
DBDukes
Community Streaming Expert