Wi-Fi & connectivity

Having Roku connectivity problems? Get the help and troubleshooting tips you need for Roku wireless connection issues, ethernet connections, and more.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
bombloader
Channel Surfer

Can't connect. Never prompts for password.

My Roku TV stopped connecting to the network. Won't prompt for password even after doing a network reset. Have had this issue once before, was resolved by creating an entirely new wifi network with SSID and password. Don't have a problem with anything else connecting, just the TV. Network reset appears to be not really resetting anything, or else it would be asking for the password again. The worthless Roku support washed their hands of it because I was able to connect to my phone's hotspot and told me to call my ISP because of "DNS caching."  I'm a network engineer so I know that's BS. Anybody run into this problem?

Tags (1)
11 REPLIES 11
makaiguy
Community Streaming Expert

Re: Can't connect. Never prompts for password.

Here's what has worked for me to re-establish my net connection. I usually have to do this on my most used Roku, a Streaming Stick+, several times a month.

• Restart your router (even if other devices have no problem finding and connecting). Sometimes that's all it takes, if not keep going.
  • Restart the Roku to clear its memory via Settings > System > System restart (for Roku TV it's Settings > System > Power > System restart). Again sometimes that's all it takes, if not keep going.
  • Find and connect to your network via Settings> Network > Set up connection

If that doesn't fix it, try disconnecting the power to your Roku for a few seconds.  When it comes back up, see if you then can set up the network connection.

Roku Community Streaming Expert
I am not a Roku employee, only a user like you.  Please, no support questions via private message -- post them publicly to the Community where others may benefit as well.