Network - Wireless & Wired Connections

Help & troubleshooting for network issues, including connecting your device to your home Wi-Fi network, connecting to public networks, troubleshooting wireless issues & ethernet connections, and optimizing streaming performance.
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Bit Rate Override question

Sorry I'm new to Roku and just want to know if I did anything wrong or not.  I have very good internet speed about 75mbps download. In any case I entered Roku Bit Rate Override screen just to see what it does, by default its set to Automatic. Since my internet speed is fast, should I leave it on Automatic? From my understanding if I leave it on Automatic it will give me best speed available that is coming from my router correct? 

Thanks
0 Kudos
37 Replies
RokuShawnS
Level 10

Re: Bit Rate Override question

Technically, yes.  There still may be issues depending on your ping in the line to the server (one bad server hop can severely damage quality ... there's no fixing that ... it's the nature of the beast).

We generally don't recommend touching any of the secret screens unless someone in support advises it, diagnostic reasons.  Most who use this screen do so due to data caps with their ISP.

If you've ever done a /traceroute on your PC, you'll understand the ping and hop issue ... if not, we can discuss it further.  For the most part, you can ignore it (the internet infrastructure is actually rather stable now, compared to a few years back).
C. Shawn Smith
Community Liaison

------------
The Cosmos is all that is, and all that was, and ever will be. -- Carl Sagan
0 Kudos

The list in bit rate override screen starts at 3.5 and goes down from there, like I said my internet speed is way faster than 3.5, so if I leave it on Automatic will I get speeds faster than 3.5 or not? 
I'm just worried that by experimenting with that secret screen I didn't mess up my speed or connection. 
0 Kudos
RokuShawnS
Level 10