Getting Started - Setup & How-to

Help getting started with Roku devices, including setup, connecting your device to your TV, linking a Roku device to your account at my.roku.com/link, adding channels, subscribing to services, and more.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Level 7

help - roku set-up for dummies + need more help

Background:

I am a complete tech-dummy. I have living room TV (new smart tv type) that is set up with Xfinity/comcast internet. It has a box. and xfinity remote. It is fine.

Room 2  - OLD style Toshiba TV I want to keep. It also has a xfinity box and I use the xfinity remote. It was set up by the xfinity guy when he came, and that's all I understand.

I want to have netflix on Room 2 TV. So, I believe I did buy the correct Roku Express + product. It has the red, white, and yellow plugs.

Do I put those colored plugs into the xfinity box? or take out the xfinity box and try to do this directly on the TV.  I am not sure I can do this by myself. I tried to find youtubes but didnt find any that helped.

Would I use the xfinity remote, or this little tiny remote the roku came with.?

Is it worth it? I do want the old TV at this point.

Thanks for your help.

0 Kudos
9 Replies
Level 21

Re: help - roku set-up for dummies + need more help

Only you can say whether it's worth it, but it might be difficult to explain everything in writing.  How is the cable box connected to the TV?  Is it with red/white/yellow wires or one black cable?  Can you find the model numbers of the cable box and the TV (usually on the back somewhere)?

0 Kudos
Level 12