Getting Started - Setup & How-to

Help getting started with Roku devices, including setup, connecting your device to your TV, linking a Roku device to your account at my.roku.com/link, adding channels, subscribing to services, and more.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
DaddyFatty2020
Level 7

Unable to update software

Jump to solution

Please help, I am NOT tech savvy. I have a newer television but it isn’t a smart tv. Purchased a Roku Express and trying to use, I continue to receive the “unable to update” message. It provides a website but how do I go to this website on my tv if I can’t go on the internet because it’s not a smart tv? I simply want to use the spectrum cable app, and that’s why I purchased this. My fire stick works just fine. Any advice?

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
RokuDanny-R
Roku Employee
Roku Employee

Re: Unable to update software

Jump to solution

@DaddyFatty2020 

Thanks for the note.

If you are unable to update the Roku device, we would recommend taking a look at the troubleshoot steps provided by our Support page here: What should I do if my Roku® device is unable to update software?

Thanks,
Danny

Danny R.
Roku Forum Moderator

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
8 Replies
makaiguy
Level 21

Jump to solution

If it tells you to go to a website, it means use the browser on a computer, tablet, or phone that has an internet connection.

• Roku Streaming Stick +, 3810X, Ser YH0059427035, wifi - Samsung UN55ES6100
  • Roku Streaming Stick, 3600X, Ser 5S56D8240827, wifi - JVC EM37T
  • TCL Roku TV 43S425/C107X, Ser X000001R60KV, wifi
0 Kudos
RokuDanny-R
Roku Employee
Roku Employee

Jump to solution

@DaddyFatty2020 

Thanks for the note.

If you are unable to update the Roku device, we would recommend taking a look at the troubleshoot steps provided by our Support page here: What should I do if my Roku® device is unable to update software?

Thanks,
Danny

Danny R.
Roku Forum Moderator