Roku setup

From linking a device to your account to adding channels, find Roku setup troubleshooting help and activation support from our community support forum.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
DaddyFatty2020
Reel Rookie

Unable to update software

Jump to solution

Please help, I am NOT tech savvy. I have a newer television but it isn’t a smart tv. Purchased a Roku Express and trying to use, I continue to receive the “unable to update” message. It provides a website but how do I go to this website on my tv if I can’t go on the internet because it’s not a smart tv? I simply want to use the spectrum cable app, and that’s why I purchased this. My fire stick works just fine. Any advice?

Tags (1)
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
RokuDanny-R
Retired Moderator

Re: Unable to update software

Jump to solution

@DaddyFatty2020 

Thanks for the note.

If you are unable to update the Roku device, we would recommend taking a look at the troubleshoot steps provided by our Support page here: What should I do if my Roku® device is unable to update software?

Thanks,
Danny

Danny R.
Roku Community Moderator

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
19 REPLIES 19
makaiguy
Community Streaming Expert

Jump to solution

If it tells you to go to a website, it means use the browser on a computer, tablet, or phone that has an internet connection.

Roku Community Streaming Expert
I am not a Roku employee, only a user like you.  Please, no support questions via private message -- post them publicly to the Community where others may benefit as well.
If this post solves your problem please help others find this answer by clicking "Accept as Solution.".

Streaming Stick 4K+ 3821 | Streaming Stick+ 3810 | TCL Roku TV 43S245/C107X
0 Kudos
RokuDanny-R
Retired Moderator

Jump to solution

@DaddyFatty2020 

Thanks for the note.