Getting Started - Setup & How-to

Help getting started with Roku devices, including setup, connecting your device to your TV, linking a Roku device to your account at my.roku.com/link, adding channels, subscribing to services, and more.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Level 13

Setting up second household

Jump to solution

Hey all,

I've been around for awhile but this is my first time needing advice on setting up a Roku for a family member in another house. 

It's for my "challenged" sister, who is pretty technology-wise, but isn't completely independent life-wise.

I'd like to set up a Roku for her with channels independent of the ones of my own (I know, needs a new Roku account).. I could set her up to be registered to my less-used Yahoo email address, but it'd also be a lot easier if Roku allowed profiles on their boxes/TVs.. I could switch between configurations (channels, logins to said channels, etc) without needing separate Roku accounts.. 

In your experiences, how have you set up Rokus for family members or friends, who you need control of their boxes, and usually remotely?

Thanks!

Yeah, I got some Rokus.
https://youtu.be/d1CSEeqWl10
0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
Level 21

Re: Setting up second household

Jump to solution

I use a different one of my email addresses for my mother's Roku.  I add channels for her, but she could also add them if she wanted to.  I have a PIN set up so that she can't accidentally subscribe to or purchase something, although I think that would be impossible as there's no payment method attached to her account.  She could screw things up by removing a channel, but that could be fixed remotely.  She's not one to go exploring available channels, so the setup hasn't really changed in years.

View solution in original post

3 Replies
Level 21

Jump to solution