Getting Started - Setup & How-to

Help getting started with Roku devices, including setup, connecting your device to your TV, linking a Roku device to your account at my.roku.com/link, adding channels, subscribing to services, and more.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
usmcwf83
Level 7

Newbie questions

I am very new to Roku but now have hooked up the Roku Streaming Stick+ on one of our 3 TVs and have questions. First, I have one pay channel on free trial right now and also a free trial for Hulu+live...is that the right name?  LOL!  Told you I was a newbie and I get confused a bit between my Roku stuff and my Hulu stuff!  Anyway, I plan to keep those two "pay for" things but sometimes when I go on a show, I believe, it says "may have additional fees" and I wonder what 'may" means?  I don't want to pay for things I don't have to for sure!  

Also, I have the free trial on the DVR and wonder if I really need it?  I mostly recorded on DISH as I was too busy to watch at original times.  Wondered if I need it as isn't streaming the way to see whatever you want at any time?  Do I need a DVR to fast forward or go back during a show?  How do I go ad-free...on Hulu or Roku?  

I'm sorry to sound so dense and I think I will be able to do this as soon as I learn this new way to watch TV but I also want to share this info with my sister who is way NOT technologically savvy!  Trying to grasp this in the simplest way so I can tell her so she can ditch cable TV also!  Thanks for any help!

0 Kudos
2 REPLIES 2\
usmcwf83
Level 7

Re: Newbie questions

Ok, so no help. I figured my questions out for the most part I guess but it's a bit frustrating if there is no way to get any phone support.  Oh well, that was why I came here but thanks anyway!

0 Kudos
atc98092
Community Streaming Expert

Re: Newbie questions