Roku setup

From linking a device to your account to adding channels, find Roku setup troubleshooting help and activation support from our community support forum.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Ctb17
Channel Surfer

Need general info - what does Roku require?

Hello I have no technical knowledge whatsoever. I have Comcast cable tv with no extra channels. It keeps increasing monthly because I think I’m the only person that has it. Anyhow I do not have any sort of computer, laptop, iPad etc. I also do not have WiFi or any computer hookup. I was watching a info on ROKU and am interested but don’t know what it requires? I’m an educated woman but just not with computer or cable knowledge 

0 Kudos
14 REPLIES 14
StreamerUser
Roku Guru

Re: Opinions and general help

https://www.roku.com/how-it-works

Basic Requirements & considerations:

1) A TV/display device with HDMI port.

2) For wireless connections (all models support this), a WiFi connection (e.g. WiFi from your modem/router/gateway).  There are 2 "bands" of WiFi that Roku supports: 2.4Ghz (longer distance, fast) and 5Ghz (shorter distance, fastest) - however, though all support 2.4Ghz, only "dual band" devices support 5Ghz.

3) If you do get internet access, make sure you get a modem/router/gateway that has both 2.4Ghz and 5Ghz WiFi support (for wireless), and Ethernet ports (for wired) - most ISPs provide these for "free".

4) For wired connections (Ultra and the Express 4K/4K+ with USB ethernet adapter models), an ethernet connection (e.g. ethernet from your modem/router/gateway).

5) For subscription-based services and their apps (e.g. NetFlix, Prime), you need to install the app/login to it.

6) If you expect to replace your current cable package and still retain access to cable channels, you'll need an OTT (Over The Top - "Internet TV") provider (e.g. YouTube TV, Sling TV, Hulu Live TV, Fubo TV) - note that they are not all equal in price or channel offerings.