Getting Started - Setup & How-to

Help getting started with Roku devices, including setup, connecting your device to your TV, linking a Roku device to your account at my.roku.com/link, adding channels, subscribing to services, and more.
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
jackdinger
Level 7

Hooking up my new Roku ultra

Hello, I’m new to Roku, just purchased a Roku ultra... My older Samsung TV has 2 HDMI ports, presently one cable is connected to my cable box, the second cable is connected to my DVD player, do I need an HDMI hub to connect my Roku ultra...?

If so,  would I then connect my Roku to one of the TV ports, and the HDMI hub to  the other, then connect my DVD player to  the hub? please advise thank you

Labels (1)
0 Kudos
7 Replies
jeffrok
Level 11

Re: Hooking up my new Roku ultra

That's correct..

You can either plug the HDMI switcher into one of the HDMI ports on your TV, and then plug all of your HDMI devices into it, or plug one device into a free HDMI port on the TV, the HDMI switcher into the other, and the remaining devices into the HDMI switcher.. the way you hook them up really doesn't matter, as long as there's an eventual conneciton to the TV.

I'd recommend a switcher that has its own remote control, so you don't have to get up to switch devices. Also, personally, I'd disable "auto switching" on the switcher, if it is a feature. It doesn't usually work very well (unless someone here disagrees).
Yeah, I got some Rokus.
https://youtu.be/d1CSEeqWl10
0 Kudos
atc98092
Level 13

As Jeff says, you need a switcher. There's no such thing as an HDMI "hub". Another option is to use an AV Receiver or a soundbar that has HDMI switching. While more pricey (although it can be kept reasonable) you can now have the option of multi-channel audio, either using 5 dedicated speakers, or using a soundbar that processes all 5 channels itself.
Dan