Getting Started - Setup & How-to

Help getting started with Roku devices, including setup, connecting your device to your TV, linking a Roku device to your account at my.roku.com/link, adding channels, subscribing to services, and more.
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Karkat55
Level 7

Connecting a Roku to a Roku TV

I have an older TCL Roku TV which I've been using for a couple of years. Of late it's starting to show its age, not in the TV section, but in the Roku functions. It's incredibly slow both to start up, and to load Netflix or other channels (but especially Netflix). Once Netflix is loaded, it's slow to scroll through thumbnails, and won't autoload video on any but the first channel you land on. It also has the problem where you have to reboot it every few days to keep Netflix from crashing.

It's pretty obvious that the Roku TV's circuitry is not up to the the job of running Roku functions anymore. So, last night I tried connecting my Roku Express to it so see how that worked. It did work just fine; there's even a Roku label for the HDMI port that you can use, so obviously Roku foresaw this sort of situation. The Express is as zippy as ever, a welcome change from the slow-as-molasses built-in Roku performance.

However, one thing is kind of bothering me about this setup. Probably my favorite feature of the Roku TVs is that you can control them with one remote, which has much simpler buttons than most TV remotes. However, if I use the Express plugged in to the Roku TV, I now have two remotes to deal with, which is annoying.