Roku setup

From linking a device to your account to adding channels, find Roku setup troubleshooting help and activation support from our community support forum.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
mchinjaws

Complete Beginner. Some Questions...

I received a Roku Premiere for my birthday after mentioning that I wanted to ditch my cable tv package. After checking the Roku website, I'm not sure if it's worth it to make the jump. Hopefully I'm just missing something simple.

It looks like I connect the Roku to my wi-fi and stream specific shows, but I need to purchase subscriptions to each channel/app I want to access? Are those fees on a monthly or yearly basis? Does the subscription give me 24/7 access to all shows on that particular network?

Right now, I have a Netflix subscription and DVR through my cable tv package, and I'm paying about $80 per month. Since I can't see prices for the different Roku channel subscriptions, I'm concerned it's going to be about the same cost to watch the same programs in a more cumbersome way. What am I missing?

Labels (1)
0 Kudos
2 REPLIES 2
Strega
Roku Guru

Re: Complete Beginner. Some Questions...

No jump is actually required.  Most people I know either didn’t quit their cable at all or did so years after they started using their Rokus.

Some channels have fees, some do not.  Those without any fees usually have quite a few commercials.  Some channels even have multiple plan/levels with differing amounts of commercials.  Channels are all different in their plans/levels/business models.

You can see all the prices.  Netflix prices are at netflix.com, paramount+ prices are at paramountplus.com, Hulu prices are at hulu.com, prime video prices are at Amazon (many people I know already had Amazon prime for the shipping and just needed to plug in a streaming device to see the video they were already getting with that.)