Discussions

Is your Roku TV not working? Join our online community forum to find help with common Roku TV issues, get troubleshooting tips, and share your experiences.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Sebastian1

What do I do when my Roku tv has been hacked?

I’m a complete non tech person. My ROKU onn 720p has been hacked via my WiFi. 

How do I fix this issue? Changing passwords isn’t an option due to it being hacked via WiFi & that’s the only solution I can think of. 

Thanks for any help 

0 Kudos
5 REPLIES 5
Rich_T
Roku Guru

Re: What do I do when my tv has been hacked?

Can you expand on the "Tv has been hacked" issue? how can you tell? whats it ( the TV) doing??

and Hacked by Wifi??

Roku sign up costs nothing regardless of what country you are in - beware that there is a sign up/support scam that targets Roku ( as with lots of other things unfortunatly)

atc98092
Community Streaming Expert

The TV can't be "hacked". As @Rich_T asked, please be more specific about what's going on.

Roku devices can be controlled via an app on a phone or tablet. But such device would have to be connected to the same network as the Roku. Perhaps what you're seeing is someone using the app to control your TV because they figured out your wireless password. Change your wireless password, then reboot your router to break any existing connections. Once it's back up, connect your wireless devices using the new password, and odds are the person messing with you will be locked out. 

Dan

Roku Community Streaming Expert

Help others find this answer and click "Accept as Solution."
If you appreciate my answer, maybe give me a Kudo.

I am not a Roku employee, just another user.
P007
Reel Rookie