Discussions

More than a smart TV—a better TV. Learn more about using your Roku TV, locate help resources, and share your experience.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted

Roku TV apps have audio delay with new TCL 8 series TV

Hello, 

I am an owner of the new 8 series TCL 75 mini Qled TV. The image is amazing; the audio is terrible. I have a brand new Sony receiver that I am using via eARC. The TV will turn the receiver on, and control the volume. It's ALMOST an amazing setup, except that audio is delayed. Sometimes it is fine, sometimes it is delayed only to a small degree and I can handle it, and sometimes it makes programming look like a 1970's kung fu movie. I am an audio post engineer with 20+ years experience mixing films and documentaries, so ANY lip sync is unacceptable to me. I have contacted TCL, and I have restored the unit to factory settings. This did help the sync the first time I tried it, but now I have mild but unacceptable lagging of the audio across all apps. I have tried all of the different combos of audio formats. Please note: moving to PCM, stereo is not OK. I didn't buy a 3K TV, and interact it with my 3K surround system to watch films in stereo. 

Any suggestions? Is Roku working to fix this? 

19 Replies
Highlighted
Level 19

Re: Roku TV apps have audio delay with new TCL 8 series TV

@actualsizeaudio Thanks for reaching out here. A few questions to help better understand the issue you're experiencing.

- What streaming channel are you watching when you experience this issue? What is an example content title? 

- When you experience the audio sync issue, press the * key on your TV's remote. A menu will appear on the left, with a variety of settings options. Look for sound settings, and 'Volume mode'. Is anything enabled here? If so, does turning this 'off' resolve the issue? 

- What is your current selection in Settings>Audio>S/PDIF and ARC?