Discussions

More than a smart TV—a better TV. Learn more about using your Roku TV, locate help resources, and share your experience.
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Roku Newbie here. Some Roku TV questions.

Hello

I decided the other day to cut the cord. There is enough apps and streaming services out there that I feel I wont miss cable much.

After reading reviews I decided on buying two Rokus for my house.

The First is a Premier Plus 4K that is hooked up to my LG OLED 4k Tv.

The second is an express plus that is hooked up to my almost 10 year old Panasonic Vierra Plasma HD TV.

Having said that would like to start with some questions...

1. On the Premier, why advertise it as a 4k device yet only make it 802.11n (2.4 ghz) compatible? I know they say 4k only needs about 24mbps but I live on a house with many devices connected to my router and most run on that band. At night, my my sons are watching netflix on an xbox 360 and an old apple tv (i hate the remote on that thing) donated to us by a family member (they prob hate the remote too). Should I be concerned about the band with?

2. The express seems slower and took a lot longer to load than the Premier. Plus its remote doesn't have volume controls on it and it seems more sluggish to respond to command (could the be due to an IR instead of RF remote?)... would it be a waste of money to buy another premier plus and place it on the older plasma TV even though it wont use any 4k features?

0 Kudos
2 Replies
atc98092
Level 15

Re: Roku Newbie here. Some questions.