Channels & viewing

Are your Roku channels not working? Find troubleshooting tips for adding/removing channels, logging in, authentication, activation, playback issues, and more.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
BartZLederman
Roku Guru

Roku Media Player: 1920 by 1080 stopped working

Jump to solution

I use the Roku Media Player channel/app every day.  It usually works reasonably well.  I get the files from a DLNA server on a Windows PC: I've been doing this for close to two years.  I've also set up a similar PC for a friend and he uses Roku Media Player the same way.  We use Windows Media Player as the DLNA server, and it has not been changed in years (by Microsoft).

Yesterday, it stopped playing videos that are 1920 by 1080, including videos that played the day before.

I've double checked, and there have been no changes on the media server PC.  I've run diagnostics and rebooted, and there are no faults there.

I've checked to see that the Roku-based TV I'm using has all of the Roku updates, and rebooted.

I've checked the network settings, and they are good.  I also tried a completely different Roku device, a Streaming Stick, on a different TV and get exactly the same results.

In the menu system, I see a preview image of the video I want to play, so the server is seeing the video: but when I play it, I just get a black screen.

Has anyone else seen this, and does anyone have any suggestions on what might be going on?

The fact that it happens on two Roku's seems to point to my DLNA server, and I'm going to run more tests: but I've never seen anything like this before, and, as I said, the software on the PC hasn't been changed in any way.

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
BartZLederman
Roku Guru

Re: Roku Media Player: 1920 by 1080 stopped working

Jump to solution