Channel Issues & Questions

Help & troubleshooting for channels on your Roku device, including adding/removing channels, logging in to, authenticating, or activating a channel, channel-specific playback issues, assistance contacting channel publishers to report issues, and adjusting channel-specific settings.
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
absorbine
Level 7

resume

some of you may understand the answer to this more than others. 

first, i am a day 1 rookie for this forum group. 

on some stations, one can start watching a program again, because there is a "resume" function.  sometimes, even with the same show, the resume function will disappear, then you have to ff & rewind to find your place.  other stations & programs never have a resume.  therefore, one has to spend a long time, often,  to find where one left off.

here's my gripe:  i relly like roku, but if every show & station doesn't use the resume function, it then makes the whole roku experience, a piece of crap!!!

is there a solution?!!

absorbine
0 Kudos
7 Replies
atc98092
Level 13

Re: resume

That is usually referred to as trick play (FF, Rewind, Resume). It is completely up to the service if it's available or not. Amazon and Netflix has it. YouTube can FF and rewind, although the video provider has the ability to control if you see frame shots as you move. And resume is hit or miss, possibly for the same reason.
Beyond that, it's tough to say which channel offers trick play and which doesn't. You didn't list the channels you've had issues with, so no one can say of their experience is the same. 
Dan
Nvidia Shield, Roku Stick (3600), Ultra (4640), Premiere (3920), Insignia 720p Roku TV, Sharp 4K Roku TV, Windows 10 Pro x64 running Serviio and Plex on a wired Gigabit network.
0 Kudos
absorbine
Level 7