Channels & viewing

Are your Roku channels not working? Find troubleshooting tips for adding/removing channels, logging in, authentication, activation, playback issues, and more.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
brassrat
Channel Surfer

commercials on acorn.tv

I have a paid subscription to acorn.tv on the roku channel.  "Midsomer Murders" is part of acorn.tv subscription, yet all episodes (except season 20) still have commercials.  I thought paid subscriptions weren't supposed to have commercials?

Tags (1)
59 REPLIES 59
atc98092
Community Streaming Expert

Re: commercials on acorn.tv

That is totally controlled by the channel provider (Acorn in this case). You'd have to contact them to get an answer to your question. 

I agree that most subscription services remove ads, but some might only kick into lower quantities of ads. I think Hulu might be that way. The lowest cost subscription still has ads, but more expensive plans remove them.

Dan

Roku Community Streaming Expert

Help others find this answer and click "Accept as Solution."
If you appreciate my answer, maybe give me a Kudo.

I am not a Roku employee, just another user.
0 Kudos
blade_005
Roku Guru

Midsomer Murders (Seasons 1 - 20) is also available as part of  the free ROKU CHANNEL offerings, which are ad-supported.

You may be accessing Season 20 directly from the free ROKU CHANNEL offering rather than through your ACORN TV subscription. I am not sure how ROKU manages content that is available as free ad-supported content but also available commercial free via a channel subscription. I would double check your selection and make sure you are inside your ACORN TV subscription channel when you select Season 20 for viewing.

BenQ HT2060 4LED Projector | ONN 5.1.2 Dolby ATMOS Soundbar | FTV4K MAX
TCL Roku-TV 55P605 (4K/HDR/DV) | VIZIO SB36512‑F6 ATMOS Soundbar | FTV4K MAX
TCL Roku-TV 43S425 (4K HDR) | FTV4K MAX
TCL Roku-TV 32S301 (720p) | FTV4K MAX
0 Kudos
brassrat