Channels & viewing

Are your Roku channels not working? Find troubleshooting tips for adding/removing channels, logging in, authentication, activation, playback issues, and more.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
szucsati
Reel Rookie

Spotify app keeps Roku awake

I'm pretty new to Roku. I have a Roku Express 4K+, which I use mainly for playing audio for the kids on Spotify and Youtube.

I have a HDMI > HDMI+SPDIF+3.5 Jack converter, which is connected to my older Samsung TV and to my Samsung soundbar. This works great, as I can have audio only, and I manually switch on the TV if I need video too.

With Youtube, after I pause the playback, the Roku goes to standby in 20 minutes, and as there's no SPDIF signal, the soundbar does the same in another 5 minutes. So pretty cool.

But not with the Spotify app. If I select the Roku as a playback device in the Spotify app, and I stop playing music, the Roku stays awake until I manually exit the Spotify app.

Does anyone know why it behaves like this? Any way to change it? I could not find any setting or anything.

Tags (1)
0 Kudos
2 REPLIES 2
UserOfStreamers
Roku Guru

Re: Spotify app keeps Roku awake

Not all apps are programmed with compatibility with/usage of all available hardware/RokuOS features.

Try turning off/on "Auto power savings":  Settings/System/Power/Auto power savings

FYI, enabling this setting causes all sorts of odd/problematic behavior otherwise.

Its not clear why the Roku "being awake" is a problem for you, since they are very lower power devices (Roku added this setting for newer models more recently, and its very problematic).

0 Kudos
szucsati
Reel Rookie

Re: Spotify app keeps Roku awake

Thank you for your response. I tried this a few times, unfortunately it didn't help.