Channels & viewing

Are your Roku channels not working? Find troubleshooting tips for adding/removing channels, logging in, authentication, activation, playback issues, and more.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
m1tch3ll
Reel Rookie

Shudder Subscription Through Roku Not Working

Jump to solution

I have a subscription to Shudder that I purchased through Roku. It is billed annually and shows up on my Roku account subscriptions list with a last renewal date of December 2019 (active until December 2020). I normally would log into shudder and authorize the Roku channel using a username and password created when I first activated this subscription (some years ago). However, shudder has recently required a full e-mail address to log in and will not accept the user name.

I've attempted to log in with my Roku account e-mail address, but shudder required that I change the associated shudder password (not my Roku account password) before proceeding. I did so and shudder recognizes my e-mail, but claims I do not have an active account and continues to prompt me to sign up.

So, I have an active subscription at Roku, but cannot log into the shudder Roku app/channel (nor on the shudder page) in a way that recognizes my subscription. Trying to use the old username I used to use results in a message saying they no longer allow logins without a full e-mail address.

I sent this to both Roku and shudder support. Roku support sent back a standard e-mail telling me to delete the channel, add it back and log on. (Shudder support has not responded, over 24 hours after sending the issue). The problem with this is that none of my Roku devices will allow me to delete the channel; because it is a Roku subscription, the "Remove Channel" icon is replaced with "Manage Subscription."

This is a frustrating issue.

JWM

1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
RokuDanny-R
Retired Moderator

Re: Shudder Subscription Through Roku Not Working

Jump to solution