Channel Issues & Questions

Help & troubleshooting for channels on your Roku device, including adding/removing channels, logging in to, authenticating, or activating a channel, channel-specific playback issues, assistance contacting channel publishers to report issues, and adjusting channel-specific settings.
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Roku streaming Dish Network?

I'm new to Roku, so please bare with me. Like most people we were on a quest to lower our monthly cable bill. We had Spectrum cable for $185/month for four TVs. So we decided to go with Dish Network with one Hopper 3. My question is, can we use Rokus on the three other TVs to stream Dish Network to those rooms? Sorry for the novice question but this is all new to me, thanks!
0 Kudos
7 Replies
Basil
Level 10

Re: Roku streaming Dish Network?

Dish Network doesn't have an app like some cable services, so Roku won't do that.

However...

Dish Network can be used to authenticate against apps. For example, if your Dish service has ESPN, you can use it to authenticate the ESPN app. Same for many of the other channels that are in your Dish Network package. Whether or not you can watch live will vary from app to app.

There's more on the Dish Network Website about using a Roku with your Dish Network account: https://www.dish.com/availability/ways-to-watch/streaming-sticks#roku
Basil
https://www.basilsblog.com/
Roku Ultra (4660)
Apple TV (5th gen), TiVo

Previous:
Roku boxes from every generation.
Apple TV (2nd, 3rd, 4th gen)
0 Kudos
DBDukes
Level 9

There is another option, but it involves dropping Dish Network.

There are streaming services such as DirecTV Now, Sling TV, Philo, Playstation Vue, Hulu with Live TV, that are essentially small cable packages that do offer live streaming content. Hulu has a single package, Philo and Sling TV have two packages, others more. They all offer premium add-ons (except Philo).