Channel Issues & Questions

Help & troubleshooting for channels on your Roku device, including adding/removing channels, logging in to, authenticating, or activating a channel, channel-specific playback issues, assistance contacting channel publishers to report issues, and adjusting channel-specific settings.
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
OnThePike
Level 7

Roku Receiving Incorrect Local FOX Affiliation

Greetings,

I am a New Jersey resident from Middlesex County. Our local FOX channel is the national New York FOX5-NY (WNYW-TV) station. However, the Roku feed, which I cannot seem to change, is FOX29 Philadelphia (WXTF-TV).

Obviously, my zip code is incorrectly listed as a local Philly affiliate. How do I rectify this issue to regain the correct FOX 5 New York station?

Thank you!

0 Kudos
4 Replies
atc98092
Level 16

Re: Roku Receiving Incorrect Local FOX Affiliation

What channel is this happening with? I'm assuming it's a channel from either Fox, or something like Sling. You need to contact whomever developed the channel you are using and work with them to get the correct channel. If this is a channel created by a cable provider (Comcast, Cox, etc.), then that's who you need to contact. There's nothing on the Roku side that is controlling that information. 

Dan
Roku Stick (3600), Ultra (4640), Premiere (3920), Insignia 720p Roku TV, Sharp 4K Roku TV, Nvidia Shield, Windows 10 Pro x64 running Serviio and Plex on a wired Gigabit network.
0 Kudos
OnThePike
Level 7

Obviously you understood nothing I wrote.

Can someone please explain how to receive the proper local channel for my area via this Roku Stick? For whatever reason, Roku is feeding the Philadelphia affiliate when I'm within the New York City market. This means I'm getting Philadelphia local news and not my correct New York/New Jersey news.

Watching TV on FIOS displays the correct channel. Only via Roku is the channel from outside my local area.