Channels & viewing

Are your Roku channels not working? Find troubleshooting tips for adding/removing channels, logging in, authentication, activation, playback issues, and more.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
tkme
Reel Rookie

How to fix error message 'This network is not included in your current Xfinity TV service'

I am having a great deal of difficulty trying to watch CNN on my Roku Ultra. I'm a Roku beginner. How do I fix the error message 'This network is not included in your current Xfinity TV service'?

Here is what I have done........

1. cnn.it/roku
  2. Activate your device screen. Clicked on Roku.
  3. I entered the Activation code that was on my TV screen
  4. It asked me to enter my TV service provider -- I entered Xfinity. (My home internet service provider is Comcast / Xfinity. I do NOT have any of their TV plans, only their home internet service)
  5. It asked me to log into my Comcast / Xfinity account which I did. I got a message on my screen that said "This network is not included in your current Xfinity TV service"
0 Kudos
9 REPLIES 9
Strega
Roku Guru

Re: How to fix error message 'This network is not included in your current Xfinity TV service'

They want your TV provider login.  (It's kind of obvious to them that you have internet because you would need that to stream.)

ie: like many channels, they want get paid via some mechanism.  A traditional cable/sat plan, or something like SlingTV etc. is what they are looking for.

Some networks have an alternate app that allows you to pay them directly, but I'm not aware of CNN having one of those.

0 Kudos
klysiak

Re: How to fix error message 'This network is not included in your current Xfinity TV service'

Why would you need a Roku device to view CNN is you already have CNN on a cable service. Doesn't make sense. I thought the reason to get a Roku device was to "cut the cord".

0 Kudos
TrooperDada326
Roku Guru